Belated Reflection on Texas Independence Day

Although I missed it on this site, yesterday was Texas Independence Day, commemorating the Republic’s Declaration of Independence from Mexico, dated yesterday, 1836. As usual, the event is marked by recitation of the (many) strong, sometimes poetic statements of the Texas uniqueness, including this from Sam Houston:

Texas has yet to learn submission to any oppression, come from what source it may.

But remember, Texas’ greatest statesmen at the time were ardent advocates of her place as one of the the United States, including Sam Houston, who lost his seat as Governor when he opposed Texas’ secession from the Union. Governor Houston:

I would lay down my life to defend any one of the States from aggression, which endangered peace or threatened its institutions. I could do more for the union, but I wish to do more; for the destruction of the union would be the destruction of all the States. A stab in the heart is worse then a cut in a limb, for this may be healed.

Just my way of saying, we’re proud of your history, but glad you’re here with us.

