But Pericles, Have You Gotten a Load of the Many?

In Alabama’s Republican gubernatorial primary, the central issue appears to be the slanderous allegation that Bradley Byrne may not, in fact, be a creationist:

He’s here to assure you that he is:

As a Christian and as a public servant, I have never wavered in my belief that this world and everything in it is a masterpiece created by the hands of God. As a member of the Alabama Board of Education, the record clearly shows that I fought to ensure the teaching of creationism in our school text books. Those who attack me have distorted, twisted and misrepresented my comments and are spewing utter lies to the people of this state.

This is where we are as a people. It’s now a good thing to promise your constituents that you’ll bend or break the law to teach a shallow creation myth as historical and scientific fact, thus contravening all sensible theology, risking expensive litigation, misleading students, treating them as pawns in a culture war in which they have no stake, and crippling the state’s scientific competitiveness. In stories like this one, we can see clearly the death of democracy.

Thanks to N.P. for acquainting me with the title line, Socrates’ famous rejoinder.

12 comments

  1. Ugghhh…this is awful. Probably the only movement within the GOP that truly terrifies me.

  2. Yeah, here we absolutely agree. Just disgusting.

    1. My daughter’s sophmore biology teacher had to have a disclaimer at the start of their section on evolution this year because she had kids completely disrupting her class last year. It’s insane.

  3. Dick Turpis · ·

    Every day Southern succession looks better and better.

  4. The comfort in the competition for conservative purity is that they are bound to start holy wars within their own ranks. The Republicans will teabag themselves out of a chance to make long term gains nationally.

    1. Define ‘long term’.

    2. Crist (I) polling above Rubio (R)?

      1. That one completely bums me out. Crist is a tool.

      2. I just love it. The tea party candidates could go 0 for… a lot.

        1. I’d rather see the Dem when in FL rather than Crist. He’s a sell-out.

          I’m hoping to send Rand Paul packing on Tuesday. It’s an uphill slog though.

          1. I had to google “Rand Paul”, since I wasn’t sure whether that was a real person or you taking a dig at Ron Paul.

            1. Oh yeah – he’s real alright. Ron Paul’s son. He’s a darling of the Tea Party carpetbagger and I’m going to be extremely depressed if he makes it through the KY primaries next week.

